After you've got your backups, you should delete every directory of your store except the following:
Now you can just unzip the package you've downloaded and upload the files onto your webspace. And that's it! After the upload has finished, your shop is updated and all the new functions can be used.
- If you're not working with a fork, you should document the changes made to the source code so that you can restore the changes once having updated the store.
- If you've made changes to the file user.less, which is intended to be customized by the shop administrator, you should NOT overwrite or restore it after the update is finished.
- If you've installed plugins from third parties that don't work after the update, you should deactivate them and contact the responsible developer.